Prof. YANG Huayong awarded the 2017 Joseph Bramah Medal


Prof. YANG Huayong, Dean of the School of Mechanical Engineering, was awarded the 2017 Joseph Bramah Medal by the Institution of Mechanical Engineers for his outstanding contributions to fluid power research at the Bath/ASME Symposium on Fluid Power and Motion Control 2018. It is the first time that a Chinese scientist has won this prestigious award.

The Joseph Bramah Medal was first established in 1968 to commemorate Joseph Bramah (1748-1814), the inventor of a patent lock, the hydraulic press and other inventions concerned with pumps, water supply and the production of pipes and tubes by the extrusion process. It is an annual award given for outstanding achievements which advance the science of mechanical engineering, particularly in the field of hydraulics.